What’s in a name?

What’s in a name?

In 2006, I fell in love with No Doubt and have never looked back.

A couple of years later, as an angsty middle schooler discovering the magical world of social media (RIP MySpace), I needed usernames to make my online presence known. I chose usernames and aliases relating to my favorite album by No Doubt, Return of Saturn. There was ComfortingLie and HystericalConfession, and variations of those names if a website didn’t allow me that exact spelling or style. In high school, I set my Instagram user handle as return0fsaturn.

Nearly a decade after creating my first social media accounts, I’m still living online under Return of Saturn references. ROS is the soundtrack of my life and my favorite record of all time, so the least I can do to repay all it’s done for me over the years is pay homage to it via usernames. (Not sure what kind of logic that is, but it makes sense to me.)

When I made this blog, I found that returnofsaturn was taken. return0fsaturn was also taken. So, I had to go with thereturn0fsaturn.

What exactly is a return of Saturn? According to Wikipedia,

a Saturn return is an astrological transit that occurs when the planet Saturn returns to the same place in the sky that it occupied at the moment of a person’s birth. While the planet may not reach the exact spot until the person is 29 or 30 years old, the influence of the Saturn return is considered to start in the person’s late twenties… Psychologically, the first Saturn return is seen as the time of reaching full adulthood, and being faced, perhaps for the first time, with adult challenges and responsibilities.

The return of Saturn is a concept in astrology, existing beyond the realms of the No Doubt world. But to me–at least for the time being, while I’m still in my early twenties–the return of Saturn connotes only No Doubt and pink hair and Gwen Stefani’s lyricism as she comes to terms with her Saturn return.

Since 2006, the songs on Return of Saturn have comforted me, brought me joy, and made me feel understood in every stage of my life. (Thank you, Gwen, Tony, Tom, Adrian, Gabe, and Stephen. <3) I imagine when I reach my own Saturn return in a few years, the album will be pertinent to my life for the millionth time.

Return_of_Saturn.png

(The featured image that appears when this post is shared on Facebook is from Beacon Street Online.)

Leave a Reply

